Willeford Receives First Niswonger Annual Memorial Scholarship

Zackary S. Willeford was named the first recipient of the Battalion Chief Steve Niswonger Annual Memorial Scholarship.

The scholarship has been established through a partnership with the late Niswonger’s wife, Shirley, and members of the Cape Girardeau Fire Department. The award is given in recognition of the outstanding dedication and contributions made by Niswonger during his career with the department.

Each year, a full scholarship will be awarded to one deserving student who has been accepted to the department’s Firefighter 1 and 2 classes. To be eligible, the student must complete an application process including a two-page essay on why they want to serve their community as a firefighter.

A committee comprised of Shirley Niswonger and several staff and firefighters with the department chose this year’s recipient based on who best embodies the qualities and characteristics of Niswonger from all applicants.

Pictured, from left to right, are: Chief Rick Ennis, Master Firefighter Steve Mirly, Willeford, Battalion Chief Brian Shaffer, Shirley Niswonger, Firefighter Taylor McLaughlin, and Battalion Chief Mike Ramsey.

Niswonger-Scholarship-Recipient-2014 (3) WEB