Cape Girardeau Police, Other Departments Receive Roadway Safety Grants

Information from Missouri Department of Transportation Southeast District News Release

police-lightsThe Southeast Coalition for Roadway Safety has awarded Law Enforcement Grants for 2014 to 19 agencies, including the Cape Girardeau Police Department, in an effort to improve roadway safety in Southeast Missouri.

Law Enforcement Grants can be used to help cover the cost of overtime and equipment for DWI checkpoints, saturation patrols, and law enforcement. By partnering with local law enforcement, the SE Coalition hopes to decrease the number of fatal and disabling accidents in southeast Missouri.

Applications were accepted from the 25-county area of the Missouri Department of Transportation’s Southeast region. Awards were based on greatest need and the proposed impact on reducing fatalities and injuries on Missouri’s highways.

Agencies awarded funding include:

  • Bell City Police Department
  • Bernie Police Department
  • Bloomfield Police Department
  • Cape Girardeau Police Department
  • Fredericktown Police Department
  • Hayti Heights Police Department
  • Houston Police Department
  • Iron County Sheriff’s Office
  • Kennett Police Department
  • Licking Police Department
  • Miner Police Department
  • Mountain Grove Police Department
  • Mountain View Police Department
  • Perry County Sheriff’s
  • Piedmont Police Department
  • Pilot Knob Police Department
  • Scott County Sheriff’s Office
  • Summersville Police Department
  • West Plains Police Department